The Big Debate


For Marlborough to remain competitive and growing it’s important that we have the right decision makers in the wheelhouse for our region. To this end the Marlborough Chamber of Commerce and the Marlborough Express are teaming up to deliver “The Big Debate”. Both of our organisations have been guardians of this community for a long time, the Marlborough Chamber born in 1887, and the Express in 1886.

On Tuesday 24th September from 7pm at the ASB Theatre, we will be bringing people and business together to have a serious conversation with this year’s candidates. If there is one date to mark in your calendar to be an informed voter this year, this is it. All welcome.

The candidates are as follows: 


Arbuckle, Jamie
Ireland, Rick
Leggett, John

Blenheim Ward (7 positions)

Andrews, Jenny
Arbuckle, Jamie
Chapman, Peter
Croad, David
Dalliessi, Deborah
Dawson, Brian
Dawson, Cyril
Fitzpatrick, Michael
Flight, Matt
Martin, Meg
Peters, Mark
Roodakker, Gerry
Skinner, Philip
Sowman, Thelma
Sutherland, Robin
Watson, Pete

Marlborough Sounds Ward (3 positions)

Briggs, Jane
Faulls, Barbara
Gimpl, Carmen
Howard, Glenn
Ireland, Rick
Oddie, David
Taylor, Nadine
Woledge, Rebecca

Wairau-Awatere Ward (3 positions)

Adams, Scott
Arbuckle, Sally
Brooks, Cynthia
Hope, Gerald
Maher, Francis
Vink, Philip

FYI - Voting papers are sent out from September 20. The closing date for voting is October 12.

Tuesday, 24th September, 2019
7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.
ASB Theatre, 2 Hutcheson Street, Mayfield, Blenheim 7201